Home

It was quite an experience for a newbie like me to encounter the work of constructing stuff (the pissoir). When I first touched the constructing tools, I feel like ewwww-that’s weird, but I somehow managed to deal with it with the help and explanation from Alex, the internship guy from Australia. Well, I could say that Alex is quite a professional in this kind of work, and I really admire him for the huge contribution of his toward the creation of our pissoir.

Let me tell you how I experienced the use of new constructing tools. First, it was about the electric saw. Well, this thing looks extremely dangerous to me, and I feel like why on earth should risk myself using it. But things changed as I saw everyone else was ok with it, so I thought maybe I should try and stopped being childish. The first time I tried cutting the bamboo, it was like, ahhhhhh, I’m not gonna make it, but thing just went on till I successfully went through it. But the piece of bamboo had a strange shape as the result. However, the second, the third, the fourth… cut brought the good quality one, lolz.

The other new tool that I used was hand-drill. It was like a gun to me, and I was eager to try it. Well, it’s not as a simple tool as I thought because as soon as I started to drill, I failed and destroyed the bit. The reason for this failure was because I didn’t use up enough strength to push. Consequently, I had to go to the market to buy the drill-bit of this hand-drill that I broke. Haha, believe me! Do not look down on the stuff we’ve never done or you’ll not satisfy with the outcome.

Urban Wetland Design Internship Member,

Chea Puthea

One thought on “Trying New Tools

  1. Pingback: Design and Construction – one intern’s perspective | Urban Wetland Pissoir

Leave a Reply

